top of page

Foolproof way to wear Dark Lipstick

I am absolutely obsessed with beautiful dark cherry and plum lipsticks that arrive with the fall trends. If it were up to me I'd be wearing this look everyday all day and would pair it with a leopard scarf, a cute black trench coat and knee high boots. But unfortunately I live in a tropical island where it is 90° and palm trees have coconuts all year round so wearing boots and trench coats will get more than a couple of stares.

photo 3.JPG

This post goes out to my lovely cousin Stephanie who asked me if I thought she could wear a dark lip. Everybody and anybody can wear a dark lip! You just need to make sure that the rest of your face is done correctly so that you don't end up looking like you're an extra from the Walking Dead. And don't worry ladies (and gentlemen) I got you! Just follow these easy, foolproof steps:

photo 5.JPG
photo 6.JPG

1. Foundation, Concealer & Powder: You're skin needs to look absolutely flawless. Use a medium to full coverage foundation and hide any 'imperfections' with concealer, Use a pressed or loose powder to set everything in its place. I used Kat Von D Lock-It Foundation in M54 (Revlon Colorstay is a good drugstore dupe), NYX HD Concealer in Beige (amazing coverage and affordable) and set it all with MAC Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Medium Plus (Rimmel Stay Matte powders are a good drugstore dupe).


2. Brows: You're brows need to be as clean, groomed and defined as possible. You can use a natural color to define them if you don't want them to be so dark. But keep in mind that brows define you're entire face so your brow game needs to be on point. I used Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder in Dark Brown (drugstore dupe: NYX Brow Powder Duo). How I do my brows tutorial coming soon!


3. Eyes: You want you're eyes to look simple (so that the main focus is your lips) but also as defined as possible. To do this take a sheer eyeshadow, one shade lighter than your skin color (never white! For fair skin tones use ivory instead) and place this on your lids. Highlight under your brow bone with this same color. Then I apply a bronzer to your crease (yes a bronzer) and blend out. You want to use a warm brown for this look to avoid looking dead, which is why a bronzer is perfect. Blend the bronzer along your bottom lash line also. Then with a black eyeshadow define your upper lashes with a super thin line. Also place a tiny bit of the black shadow to the outer-third of my bottom lash line and blended with the bronzer color. This is to define the bottom lash without it looking to harsh, and more sultry and sexy. I applied Rimmel Eyeliner in Nude to my waterline but this is optional.


4. Lashes: Lashes are key in this look. I used false lashes for photo purposes but mascara would go great with this look. I applied false lashes to the upper lid and wore Benefit They're Real Mascara on the bottom (great drugstore dupe: Revlon 3D Photo Ready Mascara).


5. Cheeks and Bronzer: Yes more bronzer. Like I said, bronzer is key to warming up this look. Use the same bronzer applied on the eyes and apply into the hollows of your cheeks

Rose Blush.jpg

and around your hairline on your forehead (almost like contouring but not as defined). I used Too Faced Chocolate Soleil Bronzer for this and the eyes. For blush you want to look alive but not embarrassed. Use color but not too much. I used this pale rose color from the BH Cosmetics Glamorous Blush Palette (the one with the heart).


6. Lips: The above steps will work for any dark lip color. Be sure to line your lips with this look. Dark colors are not very forgiving when you're out of the lines. I lined my lips with Jordana Lip Liner in Plum and filled them in with Wet N Wild Lipstick in Cherry Bomb (only $2 and it's a dupe for MAC Lipstick in Sin!). I wore a gloss over it from Tarte in a similar shade as the lipstick (sorry it didn't have a shade name). You can use a gloss if you choose but this look would also look beautiful in matte. And voila! You're ready to rock them lips!!

bottom of page