top of page

Kat Von D Shade + Light Eyeshadow Palette Makeup Look & Review

As you all know I am a huge fan of anything Kat Von D, so I just had to purchase this palette. I took a while to review it and test it out since I was one the fence with it but after this makeup look I am sold. I love the way this look turned out.


Here's a quick review: I absolutely love the pigmentation of the dark colors and not so much the lighter colors. I find that the lighter colors don't swatch as well on the eyes with a brush than they do when swatched with your finger. At least on my skin tone they are surprisingly sheer. I had to use a white eyeshadow base in order to make the light color in this look show up as I wanted. The dark colors however just need a minimal swipe. Also, just as with the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Palette, this one also has a lot of kick-up. With just the slightest touch of a brush you will have dust everywhere. This is something you need to be careful when applying the darker colors to avoid fallout on your cheeks.


This look is super easy to do. I am also using the new Anastasia Beverly Hills Lipgloss on my lips for this look (swatches and review coming soon). Since the eyes in this look are so neutral it can be paired with any lip color. And by the way just to clarify, I promise my eye in the closeup is the same exact one as the photos from my complete face. When I take my eye closeup photos I arch my brow as high as possible to smooth out the lines in my hooded eyelids so that the makeup can photograph as accurate as possible.


Products Used:

Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation + Concealer in the shade #8

Anastasia Beverly Hills Cream Contour Palette

Kat Von D Shade + Light Powder Contour Palette

Anastasia Beverly HIlls Brow Powder Duo in Caramel

Sigma Beauty Blush in Cheeky

Becca Highlighter in Opal

House of Lashes in Iconic (my new favorites!)

Anastasia Beverly HIlls Lipgloss in Vintage

Kat Von D Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette: Use the light shade 'Liberatus; on the lid and brow highlight. Apply the brown shade 'Solas' on the outer thrid part of your crease and blend well. Finally apply the darkest black shade called 'Shax' as a wingled liner and in your inner tear duct in the form of a point for that cat eye effect. Make sure to smoke out the liner. Also apply this black shade to your bottom lash line and also blend.



bottom of page